Homemade Bread Crumbs

I never knew what I was missing until I decided to make my own breadcrumbs one day.  I’d always used the pre-packaged, pre-seasoned ones.  Never again.  Not after making my own.  It’s so easy and so delicious, you’ll want to toss that pre-made stuff out!

You can put many things in your breadcrumbs, but the ones I will make today are for pork chops.  Fresh herbs are always best, but I had no fresh dill, so shhhhh, don’t tell anyone I had to use the packaged dill.  😉

What you will need:

dill

cilantro

salt

pepper

several pieces of bread

1 lemon

2 cloves of fresh garlic

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 002

Break up the bread and place in the food processor.  Add cilantro, garlic, salt, pepper and dill.  I don’t measure, but I’d say use at least a tbsp of each.

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 006

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 009

Zest lemon, rotating frequently to make sure you are only using the yellow outside part of the lemon.

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 010

This is what your lemon should look like if you’re doing it correctly.

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 013

Add the lemon zest to the food processor and give several good pulses.

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 015

It will look like this. Take a whiff. Mmm! Fresh and fragrant!

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 018

See the little bits of lemon and cilantro? I SO wish you had a scratch and sniff screen right now!

porkchops2waysbreadcrumbs 034

Yum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “Homemade Bread Crumbs

  1. Pingback: Garlic & Herb Pork Chops | Straddle The White Line·

  2. I’m so glad you came to share at Super Saturday Show & Tell… come back again next week to party with me again 🙂 xoxo~ Ruthie

  3. Pingback: Today I started loving you again… (Beer bread with Sharp Cheddar & Dill) | Straddle The White Line·

Leave a Reply

