Leftover Mashed Potato Cakes

We hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  Because my husband was working this year and I was sore from the ongoing expansion process, we decided to–gasp!– order our dinner this year.  I’ve never done that.  I was very pleasantly surprised and it was delicious.  Our local butcher/meat market had an organic Amish turkey with several sides and so we jumped on it, putting in our order a week or so ago.  Since we had a small gathering this year (just us and the kids), it was perfect.

Like most of you we have leftovers today so I am going to share one of my favorite recipes for leftover potatoes–potato cakes.  These are something I’ve had trouble with for years.  I LOVE them, but I’ve never been able to get them to stay together very well.  I discovered the last time I made them that my fault has been in my way of preparing the potatoes.  I do not like pasty mashed potatoes.  Bleh.  My husband, however, does.  I prefer creamier mashed potatoes.  The last time I made them I wasn’t planning on having any of them so I made them thicker.  This turned out to be the key to them staying together.

Start with some leftover mashed potatoes.  If they have a bit of water in them the next day, strain them through a kitchen towel or cheesecloth to remove excess water.  Add 1 egg and enough flour to make them easy to shape.  I usually start (for say a small bowl of leftover potatoes) with about a half cup of flour and go from there.  For a little extra flavor you can add garlic powder or onion powder.  Parmesan is also good.  I really prefer them plain.  They are just so comforting and homey that way.

Add 1 egg and gradually add flour until you get a pasty, thick consistency

Form into patty and place carefully into preheated oil

After a few minutes flip over and cook opposite side to golden brown

Sassy takes a snooze while they are cooking

Drain on a paper towel or cloth

Warm and fluffy on the inside, crisp on the outside

You can make them thinner or thicker depending on your preference.  I prefer them thicker, as it is easy to overcook them if they are too thin and I just feel they make a heartier side if they are thicker.  I’ve even eaten them by themselves with some slices of tomato or a salad.  They are just that versatile and everyone loves them.

I hope you enjoy this favorite of mine!

8 responses to “Leftover Mashed Potato Cakes

  1. I enjoyed this post so much! One of my husband’s favorite dishes is potato cakes, and I am so glad to discover the secrets to really good ones- thank you! (Sassy is precious!)

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m glad you liked the potato cake recipe. It took me a while to perfect it, but it was soooo worth all the failures to get there!

      Oh and fyi our blog has moved to http://corsointhekitchen.com/ . 🙂 I kept the old one active bc I am still moving content. 🙂

Leave a Reply

