Sausage Corn Casserole

“Is it ready yet?”

 

I am never preparing food in the kitchen without dogs or kids in attendance.  Such is my lot in life.  My youngest is home with me and she is my last, so I try to enjoy the moments where I can.  Little ones usually like to help, so helping you prepare a meal often gives them a great sense of accomplishment and you some wonderful memories.  Keep your camera handy.  You’ll be glad you did.

 

I also make my dogs’ food (I’ll save that for another blog post) so I also have furry little faces gazing up at me with sad eyes, telepathically communicating their state of complete and utter starvation.

 

 

Can you hear the violins?

 

Ok, on to the first recipe.  I will admit this one sounds weird.  It did to me the first time I heard of it.  But then I made it and everybody went crazy for it.  It was good.  I mean, none-left-for-the-next-day good.   I do have some photos of this somewhere and when I find them I will upload them.  I’ve had this recipe for years and it is good for a quick no-fuss meal, especially if you have a family that likes casseroles.  You can also tweak it a little and sneak in some other veggies past those who might otherwise not eat them.  I do not remember where this recipe came from; it is not my own, but I have enjoyed it over the years.

 

I will say the color needs a little pick-me-up, so adding a colorful side such as sliced tomatoes, green beans, salad or a mixed fruit bowl might satisfy the need for a pop of color.  It might also be fun to bake in stewed tomatoes.

 

 

Prep time:  10 min

Cook time:  45 min

On the table:  55 min

 

Yields 6 servings

 

Ingredients

 

*  1 lb ground pork sausage

*  4 eggs, beaten

*  1 15 oz. can of cream style corn

*  1 cup soft bread crumbs  (I have found I get the best taste from Italian bread crumbs)

*  1/4 tsp ground black pepper

*  1/3 cup cracker crumbs (Saltines work best)

*  2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley (I like to use fresh cilantro)


Directions


1.  Place sausage in a large, deep skillet.  Cook over medium heat until evenly brown.  Drain, crumble             and set aside.

2.  In a large bowl, stir together sausage, eggs, bread crumbs and black pepper.  Spoon mixture into a          lightly greased 8×8 inch baking dish.  Sprinkle with cracker crumbs.

 

3.  Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

 

 

3 responses to “Sausage Corn Casserole

  1. Now see this sounds good to me right off the bat…..you’d visited my blog and I hopped over to yours and starting salivating at the first post and then out of the list on the first page this one intriqued me. Then the dogs cracked me up. I have two dogs and I get those mournful looks alot too! I am marking this blog to favorites and coming back sooN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

