Naan Pizza & A Dog Show!

Pizza and a dog show?  How the heck do these things have anything to do with each other?  Well, it’s been a busy few weeks here, last week being a particularly busy one as there was an upcoming dog show weekend.  And as if chasing a toddler around all day, picking up other kids from school, tending to household stuff and the dogs, mediating kid arguments and trying to keep my house from looking as if a bomb went off weren’t enough, I was also trying to coordinate a trip for the following week.  Gah!
The show weekend was a big deal to me because it was Sassy’s first time out, Rama’s first time out in several months due to my surgeries and would likely be the last time I would handle a dog in the ring for months.  I am scheduled for another attempt at reconstructive surgery following the mastectomy I had last May, and if that works out well I will then have the implant swap, then the fat graft.  At least 3 more surgeries.  Ugh.
So anyway, I was really looking forward to getting to do something I loved before being fairly sedentary while I heal.  To prepare for this the seats had to come out of my van, the dogs had to be groomed, crates loaded, bait made and show supplies gathered and packed into my dog show bag.  It really left little time for meal planning and preparing.
The later it got the night before the show, I began to look around for something quick and easy, yet tasty and filling.  We had some extra naan bread left over from the previous night and I knew I had pasta sauce and plenty of cheese.  I also had various other toppings in the fridge, so I pre-heated the oven to 350 and began to gather what I had.
*Naan bread (garlic)
*pasta sauce
*toppings of your choice (I used mushroooms, grape tomatoes, fresh cilantro and dill)
*shredded cheese (I used mozzarella and parmesan/asiago/romano blend)
I love these because they are so versatile.  You can pretty much do whatever you want to them.  The fact that the naan is already seasoned and ready to eat makes it even more appealing.  The kids enjoyed helping me make these.  Super easy.  And what kid doesn’t love pizza?
Place bread on cookie sheet lightly sprayed with non-stick cooking spray
Add sauce
Add as much or as little cheese as you like
Excuse the messy kitchen.  It had been a busy day!  Sassy doesn’t care, though. She just wants some food.
Mom’s pizza was a bit more exciting–mushrooms, tomatoes and cilantro!
Kids just wanted cheese
Bake in 350 degree pre-heated oven until cheese is thoroughly melted
Corsos in the kitchen
All done!  Yum!  For super easy cleanup, serve on napkins or paper towels.

Corsos At The Dog Show

Here are a few shots from the show this past weekend.  Yay Corsos!

Rama took Reserve both days
Rama (handled by Nestor Rodriguez), Sassy and I and a lineup of lovely dogs
Pretty Sassy
Our haul for the weekend

One response to “Naan Pizza & A Dog Show!

  1. Pingback: Turkey Curry Naan Pizza to Lure Chris Pine | jittery cook·

Leave a Reply

